The meaning of Intel/AMD processor names

How to decode Intel/AMD  processor  names – What processor names mean

Intel processor - CPU - Core i7, i5, i3 naming scheme

Intel processor – CPU – Core i7, i5, i3 naming scheme. Click on the image to view its full size

How to decode Intel Core i7, i5 and i3 processor names

Most desktop and laptop PCs use processors made by Intel or AMD. Intel and AMD processor names can be decoded to give useful information about them.

For example, at the time of writing, Intel’s Core i7, Core i5 and Core i3 processors (CPUs) were up to their sixth generation. Each generation brings technological advancements, so it is useful to be able to know which generation you are getting in a brand-name desktop or laptop PC or which model to buy if you are building your own desktop PC to best suit your computing needs.

Intel Core i3 sixth-generation processors – specifications –

The processor ranges are i7, i5 and i3, going from the highest, most expensive to the lowest, least expensive range. Note that a Core i3 processor is more than capable of meeting the computing needs of most computer users.The i3 range all have two cores and four threads and have built-in graphics chips. HyperThreading Technology adds two virtual software cores to the two physical cores.

The generation number is the first figure – 6 – in the example of the Core i7 6920HQ (mobile) processor shown in the annotated image of the name at the top of this page.

Most hardware devices or software packages come in different versions, so they are each given an SKU (StockKeeping Unit). In the case of Intel CPUs, the higher the number, the higher the version is in a particular range and the more advanced and expensive it is.

Visit the following link on Intel’s website to read the specifications of the i7 692HQ mobile (laptop) processor.

The i7 692HQ model supports HyperThreading Technology: “Intel® Hyper-Threading Technology (Intel® HT Technology) delivers two processing threads per physical core. Highly threaded applications can get more work done in parallel, completing tasks sooner.” Therefore, the processor has 4 cores and 8 threads – 4 physical cores and 4 virtual cores.

The HQ in i7 692HQ is applied to a mobile (laptop) version. It stands for “High performance graphics –  Quad core”, which means that the processor has a built-in high-performance graphics chip and has 4 cores – four processing units (CPUs) running at the same speed/frequency in a single processor housing. Processor Base Frequency – 2.9GHz – Max Turbo Frequency – 3.8GHz.

Visit the following page on Intel’s website for more decoding information on the sixth generation  i7, i5 and i3 processor ranges. The information is broken down into Desktop and Mobile (laptop) CPUs.

Intel® Processor Numbers: Laptop, Desktop, and Mobile Device –

The high-end Intel desktop processors use different naming schemes. Visit the following page for more information on their names.

Intel® High End Desktop Processors –

How to decode AMD FX and APU processor names

AMD FX high-performance CPUs

FX is the name for AMD’s high-end processors. The do not have a built-in graphics chip. They require one or more discrete graphics cards. As with Intel processors, numbers are used for the number of cores and the generation. Example models are FX 8370, 8350 and 6350.

The first number provides the number of cores the CPU has –  FX-8XXX (8 cores), FX-6XXX (6 cores), FX-4XXX (4 cores). The second number indicates the generation – FX-81XX (1st generation) – FX-82XX (2nd generation). The last number indicates performance level within that chip class. The following models have a higher and lower performance level respectively. FX-8350 & FX-8320 – FX-6350 & FX-6300 – FX-4350 & FX-4300.


AMD FX Processors –

AMD APUs – Accelerated Processing Units

AMD’s Accelerated Processing Units (APUs) are processors that have a built in AMD Radeon graphics chip that makes it unnecessary to use a discrete (separate) graphics card. If you have an AMD graphics card that supports CrossFire technology, it can be run in tandem with the APU’s graphics chip, increasing performance.

Microsoft uses AMD APUs in its Xbox One gaming consoles. As such, they are more than capable of meeting the needs of most computer users, including playing the latest games.

The naming system starts with the series name (A series) followed by the tier of APU (A4, A6, A8, A10). A10 is the highest end APU. The 5 in A10 5800K provides the generation (fifth generation APU). The latest sixth generation APUs (by August 2016) have a 6 in front (A10 6800K). A10 and A8 APUs are quad core (have 4 cores). A6 and A4 APUs are dual core (have 2 cores). Note that all of the cores in a multiple-core processor run at the same speed/frequency measured in GHz. Software has to be specifically written to take advantage of multiple cores.

The suffixes at the end of a model name add extra information. M is for mobile, for the mobile (laptop) APUs and K means it has an unlocked multiplier that allows the APU to be overclocked (set to run faster than its native clock speed).

AMD Accelerated Processing Unit [APU] –

AMD A-Series Desktop APUs –